19 C
HomeBollywood'Happy Valley' & 'The Crown' Exec Win Big

‘Happy Valley’ & ‘The Crown’ Exec Win Big

Happy Valley has won a trio of Broadcasting Press Guild Awards (BPG) a day after being nominated for six BAFTAs.

The final season of Sally Wainwright’s BBC/AMC+ epic scooped the Best Drama, Best Writer and Best Actress awards. The Sarah Lancashire-starrer ended with a bang as Lancashire’s Catherine Cawood faced off with James Norton’s Tommy Lee Royce, and the show will not be returning.

Elsewhere at the BPGs, which turns 50 this year with a ceremony in London, ITV hit Mr Bates vs the Post Office was given a jury prize and The Crown exec Andy Harries won the coveted Harvey Lee Award for outstanding contribution to broadcasting, a few months after Netflix’s royal saga ended.

Gary Oldman scooped the Best Actor prize for his role in Apple TV+’s Slow Horses, a day after being snubbed by the BAFTAs. The BBC’s Time was Best Drama Mini Series, Ghosts won Best Comedy and Netflix was also successful in the Best Entertainment category with Squid Game: The Challenge.

The awards are voted for by the UK’s broadcasting press. They come a day after The Crown swept up the BAFTA TV noms, picking up eight. Happy Valley managed six.

The awards in full

Best Documentary Mini Series 1-3 episodes

Russell Brand: In Plain Sight – Dispatches (Hardcash Productions for Channel 4’s Dispatches)

Best Documentary Series 4+ episodes

Once Upon A Time in Northern Ireland (KEO Films and Walk on Air Films for
BBC. PBS and The Open University)

Best Comedy

Ghosts (Monumental Television in Association with Them There for BBC One)

Best Entertainment

Squid Game: The Challenge (A Studio Lambert and The Garden production for Netflix)

Best Drama Mini Series 1-3 episodes

Time (BBC Studios Drama for BBC One)

Best Drama Series 4+ episodes

Happy Valley (Lookout Point in co-production with AMC for BBC One)

Best Actress

Sarah Lancashire – Happy Valley (Lookout Point in co-production with AMC for BBC One)

Best Actor

Gary Oldman – Slow Horses (A See-Saw Films production for Apple TV+)

Best Writer

Sally Wainwright – Happy Valley (Lookout Point in co-production with AMC for BBC One)

BPG Breakthrough Talent Award

David Jonsson – Agatha Christie’s Murder Is Easy (BBC One)

BPG Emerging Creators Award

GK Barry

Radio Programme of the Year

The Briefing Room (A BBC production for BBC Radio 4)

Podcast of the Year

Movers and Shakers (A Podot production)

Audio Presenter of the Year

Ken Bruce on Greatest Hits Radio, a production of Bauer Media Audio UK


BPG Jury Prize for Audio

Goalhanger Podcasts

BPG Jury Prize for Television

Mr Bates vs The Post Office (ITV Studios and Little Gem for ITV)

Harvey Lee Award for Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting

Andy Harries

Source link


latest articles

explore more


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here